Gibson Brands Forums

Advice for a complete novice

GB8

Hello all,

I know zip about playing a guitar. Acoustic or electric. But would love to learn how to play electric. My question is...should I start by learning how to play acoustic? Or can I start with an electric? I'm into blues rock. Considering a Les Paul Standard and possibly one of the Gibson amps or a Marshall. Or the B.B King Lucille. As I am a HUGE fan of his. Recommendations for a great electric guitar/amp combo assuming I'd like to start with either of the two guitars.

Or if you guys think it would be better for me to start with an acoustic how about the J-45? Willing to plunk down 3k max.

Thanks.

I think learning on the acoustic is harder as in most cases you have to push down harder on the strings. Learning on the acoustic makes your fingers stronger than learning on an electric IMO... Remember Gibsons tend to have chunky necks which makes it feel like your playing an acoustic... so their not the easiest guitars to learn on.. As for your choice of guitar then thats a decision only you can make... Go to a shop and try out lots of models and pick out what feels comfortable for you...

And good luck...

Flight959

I used to say Go acoustic first and then take up electric, cause it made sence to me. Kinda like a Boot camp for your fingers. I'd even say, get a cheap, hard to play acoustic and learn your chords on it. When you get a good guitar you'll be better than you realize you are.

But recently I was teaching my Girlfriend on a cheap Ibanez, that's pretty easy to play and doesn't sound bad for a Plywood guitar, and she wasn't getting into it. We were at band Practice and I showed her Godzilla on on my Stratocaster, and she picked it right up. Then it dawned on me, all the music she listened to was overdriven Electric. She'd rather play Angus Young than Neil Young. So now she's using a bullet Strat to practice on and my Guitars when I'm there.

Cliff Note's