Gibson Brands Forums

An on-going project, likely never to end...

Lars68

As you longtime members know, I have been writing songs, and posting versions of them here for a few years now. Some horrible stuff and some approaching decent. I wrote my first song at age 47 and I'm now soon turning 53, and I just realized a short while back, that I still don't consider my very first song "done" and that looking to complete songs and recordings is the wrong approach for me. This approach has only lead to dissapointment when my skill level at the time hasn't allowed me to fullfill my intent. So instead,  I have started to look at everything I do as a constant work-in-progress, which will develop as I develop at this wonderful hobby.

With this baby step approach I have been revisiting old songs/recordings for a few months now, trying to polish them to the best of my current abilities. This includes things like changing out vocal sections, revising lyrics, adding percussions and background stuff, improving sound quality with EQ adjustments, adding background vocals , taking stuff out, changing track settings etc etc. Nothing big, just many small changes over a long period of time

I think I recently turned a corner, and songs that I previously saw as underachieving, now have started to sound different to me. It's like the songs, in tiny tiny increments, have started to approach my original vision for them, and that is indeed a very big thing for me. The songs and recordings are not masterpieces, by any stretch of the imagination, but they are all my songs, stuff that I wrote and that matters to me. There are of course lots of stuff still to improve, especially regarding the singing, but the journey continues and the race is not to the swift but to those who keep on running...