Gibson Brands Forums

Nut Sauce!

Buc McMaster

I have been using a great product for a few years now that works on all guitars, acoustic or electric, and can solve a sometimes annoying problem. Big Bend Nut Sauce is a terrific product! I started using it on Strats to maintain tuning on a floated bridge/non-locking nut vibrato setup - worked like a charm! The light lube eliminates friction at the nut with a functional vibrato (on any non-locking nut system) and stops string "pinging" and binding when tuning on all guitars. Good stuff! It lasts quite some time......I apply it to my J200 about every 4 or 5 string changes for smooth, noiseless tuning. They also make a great polish and fretboard treatment..... Good stuff from a small up-and-comer in aftermarket accessories!

My wife would barely look up from her rolling tray to acknowledge I had applied sauce to my nuts. I'm about ready to display my saucy nuts to any jilted baby momma from the Jerry Springer Show with tattoos and too much makeup and see if we could rock a trailer off the cinder blocks before the cops showed up on account of the noise.

From the guitars of course.

you can easily (and cheaply) make a nut sauce too. just mix graphite powder with vaseline. keep it off your finish.

that being said, if you are getting the dreaded "ping" then it really means you need a tech to clean the nut slots up with a file. a properly cut nut with clean, smooth slots should never ping, and shouldn't need any type of nut sauce.

This thread should be shut down' date=' what with all the allergies to nuts 'n' all.

Or at least have the following appended to the title:

"Contains traces of nuts."[/quote']

I agree. You should let our Moderator know.

He'll be out of that trailer shortly.