Gibson Brands Forums

The most important things to help you improve as a player?

mihcmac

I had been banging on the Piano for while when at 12 I got my first Guitar and hammered out a relationship between them.

Being self taught was limiting until I got together with a friend and we started to Share what we had learned.

One day I bought a Bass because I was fascinated by the way it looked. When I was walking home with it some friends saw me carrying it and asked if I wanted to join their band.

At the time I could relate a root note to chords, so I developed the skill could to watch and translate. A short time later we played our first gig.

Continuing to learn from the band my guitar skills were improving, so when I eventually joined a Blues Band as a Bass player, the band decided I was better at playing Rhythm guitar and I started picking up riffs from our lead player.

During solitary times I mostly just played guitar, but finding it really easy to join bands as a Bass player and was able to heavily influence the group to be more creative.

Eventually putting down the Bass and just focusing on being an improv Lead player, I started to attract Jazz influenced Rock players.

So for me massive improvement came from playing with other people and practice practice practice.

So this is what worked for me, whats your story?

Edited by mihcmac

Best thing anyone can do to improve is to play with others.

They don't have to be better than you, or worse than you....EVERYONE brings something to the table.

I don't get the chance to play with others much anymore....(and my playing shows it).  

I recognize my limitations of playing by myself, (Timing, for one).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, mihcmac said:

So this is what worked for me, whats your story?

You named most of it, good sir. 

* Practice

* Playing with others, and picking up on what everybody has to offer

and, my personal favorite, 

* Performance-oriented motivation.