Gibson Brands Forums

Montana Baked Dove, Anyone?

BoSoxBiker

So, yesterday was a few things. Normally, it'd be tax-day here in the States. It was the Battleaxe's and my 32nd anniversary.  We each had our second dose injections yesterday, watched the Red Sox lose a close one to the Twins. After that, I played my D-41 and waited for  my brand-spanking new Frank Hannon Love Dove to arrive. Not just any Love Dove, but the one from up yonder in Bozeman, Montana at Music Villa featured in the video below.

It's no secret that I had been Jonesing one for several years, but it never made it past 2nd place until this year. The torrefied top was particularly enticing. I've been looking at a lot of things online, but kept coming back to this. Lots of deja vu moments between this and my 2018 Hummingbird with the same Cherry Burst thing going. Actually, the same could be said between the Dove and the 2020 SJ-200 Historical Collection. Almost perfectly similar setups, frets, finish, etc. Both have baked tops. 

It's louder than I thought it was going to be.  There is some indescribable and good similarity in sound to both the Hummingbird and the SJ-200s. Some strange combination. The Rock and Roll growl to the mid range I get in the Hummingbird combined with some warmth of the SJ-200s. 

The downside. As with last Summer's SJ-200 purchase, there is a nut issue. I've called and arrangements are in place for when I give the word. I'll be without her for a bit if that's the case. 😞

I'll take some proper pics tomorrow or the next day. For now, a little repeat of their video from last Summer. I wonder what you folks think of the string slack type of noise very early in the video? A little low action or some sympathetic noise from nut slots or something. The easy to play commentary is no off the cuff statement. Nor is the powerhouse comment. This thing is bad-arse and a frog's hair away from perfection. I can't imagine why it didn't sell for 8 months.

• Like 1