Gibson Brands Forums

Another Fake J-45?

jibberish

I don't know what that thing is but i don't think it's a 50's J45. I'm no expert though. For the most part it looks pretty good, with some odd repair work. That narrow nut was more of a Norlin era thing (early 70s i think?) but who knows, it could have been "customized" somewhere along the way.

22 minutes ago, jibberish said:

Hahaha...I know, I'm geeking out about this.

Ya clicked it. So you must too!

I see:

1) weird pickguard

2) no soundhole sticker

3) weird soundhole stamp

4) can't even tell if there is matching stamp on back of headstock

5) bridge inlays don't match

https://www.ebay.com/itm/254936891019?ViewItem=&item=254936891019

On my 5th point, by happenstance I just shifted the J-45 on my lap, and the light angle made one bride inlay look white, while the other still pearl-ish.

So, just saying. Camera flash could nullify my 5th point.

Those of us who own and play vintage J-45s may look at this guitar differently from the original poster.

It looks like a 1955 J-45 with an oversized replacement pickguard to me.

A J-45 of this vintage would not have a sticker on the inside--only the FON stamped on the neck block, as we see in the photo. The W-prefix Factory Order Number (the "weird soundhole stamp") indicates 1955, as do most other visible features of the guitar.

You won't find a factory label inside a J-45 prior to the later Norlin era square-shoulder models, as most folks here know.

Not sure what you are referring to as a "matching stamp on the back of the headstock", but embossing the FON or serial number on the back of the headstock came in later than this guitar.