Gibson Brands Forums

Humidity control inside case.

Fred3137

Hello readers, 

I bought my first Gibson J-45 Standard Sunburst model, i've been saving cash for this model for the past 9 months.

Now, i'm probably the most rookie owner there is, and maybe i think too much about it but i'm making sure that i take care of it as much as i can.

I have a hygrometer at home and made various tests around my house to find a proper room to store it (inside it's original case) and the relative humidity(RH) is around 45-50% which is good.

But then i placed the said hygrometer inside my guitar case(Standard Brown gibson case that came with the guitar) and the RH goes up to 60-63% RH...which i'm reading is too high for an acoustic. 

So, my question :

• Is there anything to do to lower the humidity level in the case?
  • I'm thinking, leaving my guitar outside it's case for a little while so the case can maybe lower the humidity level?
  • Or should i just ignore this and leave it inside the case?

To put it in perspective, i play about 2 hours every evening after work, so yes it does spend time outside it's case. 

I'm also checking if my hygrometer needs to be calibrated.

Let me know guys, 

Thanks in advance.

45-50's awesome. i wouldn't be too concerned about low 60s, especially if that's just slow trends of rising or dropping over time. 

Humidity fluctuation is where it gets tricky- i'm in new england and we can go from around 35 up to 80+ % in the matter of a few hours if a low front thunderstorm rolls through. 

If there's going to be a big humidity change where you live, just pop it in its case. the humidity in a closed case will change more slowly than the air and certainly slowly enough not to damage it. sounds like you live in a solid spot for guitars though!

I don't believe low 60s for RH is not really in the danger zone.    you could try the D'Addario Humidipak, which works as a  two way "system"  add and absorb moisture.