Gibson Brands Forums

Mo' Money

brad1

Today I was paid via direct deposit; directly into my bank account.  And when I looked at the amount, I was very surprised. It was a lot more than it should have been.

About 3k  more than it was my last pay check. 

Now I did get a raise from last year, but not even close to that much. I am a school teacher, and I get paid on a scale. We get small increments in salary increases, as do most public employees. 

So I ask you guys...what should I do?

What if this is the one and only time? Or what if this happens every month for the next year?
I am feeling a little guilty. And I am worried if they find out about it down the road, that I may have to pay it back.

Anybody have any knowledge or experience with something like this? Any lawyers

What would you guys do???:-k[confused]

• Thanks 1
  • Confused 3

This has happened to me with the VA and other places. They will realize their mistake and come looking for their money. You may see 3 large less in one of your paychecks, so be careful.

This reminds me of the time about 25 years ago I was checking my bank balance over the phone and I had over a 2 million dollar balance. Surprisingly it took them a couple of days to find out that it wasn't my money. It was nice being a millionaire for a couple of days. 

Edited by Big Bill
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

Not a lawyer, but I know if someone ships you something in the mail unsolicited you are entitled to keep it.  Not the same with money transfers.  Ethical thing to do would be tell your employer about it, probably a mistake, but by being honest they may allow  you to keep a portion of it?

Edited by Twang Gang