Gibson Brands Forums

I got scammed today, picked up a fake LP

Rusty Mcdangles

On 9/20/2021 at 2:30 PM, Rusty Mcdangles said:

Ya I don’t own a lot of electrics so thought I’d give it a try, had no idea honestly, I looked up the number online and said it was legit. Guy said he had changed the pick ups, it sounds pretty decent to be honest, just a shame…my acoustic was worth $1000+. Lesson learned I guess.

this is the glaring problem with counterfeits and why it's damn shame no one does anything about.. 

It's one thing to disclose the fact it's not authentic, it's another entirely to goad someone into a deal, knowing full well what they have and what YOU are giving up in trade.

Some people are bound to give humanity a bad name,, like this jack a$$ you ran into.

I'm sorry this happened all the same.

• 4 weeks later...
1 hour ago, M-T-Pockets said:

So how do you know for sure this is fake (the headstock doesn't look right, but I'm no expert).  

It's very obviously fake. The only way it isn't is if they hired someone new and gave them free run of the factory with a guidebook but no live training.. and let them bring parts from home.

I'm not so sure...

Serial number: 017160676

Production year: June 20, 2006 (Batch:0 Product nr.: 176) 

(Manufactured in Nashville)

Most of the 06 Standards I have looked at have a blank nut cover, like the 06 below and others just say Standard. His doesn't look right, like its an aftermarket cover.

6803858446_9c934e8f0a_n.jpg

To me the hardware looks correct, the seller said he changed the PU's, I can't tell from the photos of the headstock if its a three piece or not and it looks like a factory installed Bigsby

So I'm thinking it would be worth contacting Gibson Support

1-800-4GIBSON

or contact https://www.gibson.com/Support/Customer-Service

Also you can submit a form for possible Counterfeit.

https://www.gibson.com/en-US/Support/Report-Counterfeits

Edited by mihcmac
  • Haha 1

5 hours ago, Dub-T-123 said: