Gibson Brands Forums

1988 Gibson ES-335 Dot, is smell normal when opening case?

Rikryder

I recently came into a 1988 Gibson ES-335 DOT. It came from the estate of my son's friends grandfather and to my knowledge the owner was never a smoker. I noted the smell when I opened the case, and as a former smoker did not associate this smell with cigarette smoke. As a woodworker I'm thinking it could be maple, especially if it has been cooped up for awhile.

I have read a few reviews of this guitar online and have noted that some of the reviewers mentioned a strong wood or maple smell from the guitar. Has anyone else had this experience?

I appreciate all input.

Thanks-Rick

Probably a combination of the (unfinished) wood, inside the guitar, and the outgassing of the Nitro finish.

Not uncommon. The strength of the oder should diminish over time...especially if you leave the case open

for some time. If it's been closed for a long time (years), and/or stored in a basement, etc., then check for

mold/mildew, especially in the corner areas, of the case.

Step1Pour one part of bleach into nine parts of water in a bowl or bucket. Use a rag to wipe the solution on the spots that contain the mold. You may want to check a small spot first to see if it changes the color of the fabric. Lay the guitar case in the sun until it dries.

Step2Take out a few Lysol disinfecting wipes and soak the areas that have the mold by wiping back and forth. This shouldn't change the color of the fabric, but you may want to test a small area first. Place the guitar case in the sunlight until it dries.

Step3Use a germicidal UV light to kill the mold. This can be as expensive as replacing the guitar case unless you know someone that has the light you can borrow. These are sold at stores such as Sam's Club for about $175 (see resources).

Step4Vacuum out your guitar case to keep the mold from returning. The vacuuming will remove any food particles that have gotten in there.