Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Tribute Nut Width

lastshooter

Hi,

I’m a older beginner lefty looking at buying a Les Paul Tribute Left Handed.

I currently playing an acoustic/electric Fender with nut width of 1.69

I feel a slightly wider nut at 1.695 would best suit my style and while a very small size difference it may just make a difference from a dead string to a good hit as it only occurs in certain chord placements.

I looking at specs all over and get varying results via the net some will say 1.695 while others say 1.69 and l know it’s best to try in a store but being a lefty it’s not feasible.

Me questions are;

1. Can I purchase from Gibson and ask for a wider nut?

2. If not from above have a luthier change it? 

Edited by lastshooter

Hi,

The difference is only .005" . To put that in perspective, the thickness of a piece of paper is .004"

I would think that the neck profile would make more difference to feel & handling than that. It would affect whether you could wrap your thumb around etc.

I certainly think that trying out different necks would help you make a informed decision. It wouldn't matter if they weren't lefties for that purpose. 

Edited by merciful-evans

This is the 2nd thread someone looking for a particular nut width. 

Not that I'm "diss'ing" you.

But way I look at it: you have to learn on a variety of guitars with different nut/neck/scales. 

That way if you're some place and you get the "oh you play guitar,  here grab this guitar and play us something "

You don't answer "um no man, I can't play that guitar,  it's not set up for me"

Don't think any of the greats would turn down a jam/gig