Gibson Brands Forums

Losing a Friend

brad1

The past few days have been tough for me, and even tougher for my cat Sydney.  She did not eat much yesterday or the day before.  And today she has eaten nothing I give her. 

I know there are some of you that don't like cats. I never thought I liked them either. Until I got one at age 52.  And then she became a wonderful companion to me and has been for the last 17 + years. 

Right now I am very lucky that I am not working. So I can be with her.  I'm a teacher and start school at a new job in about 3 weeks.

I knew this would be hard to deal with, but it is harder than I imagined.  It is really tearing me apart inside.  And it will only get worse when she passes.

How have you guys dealt with the loss of a pet? Any suggestions or advice on how to get through it?

Thanks

Yes, I have been there too..  I had Brutus for many years. He was the closest thing I will ever have to having a child. But actually more than that as he was my friend and someone to share life with as such..  He lived till he was 19, still playing like a kitten until the last month or so..  Then as said, he stopped eating..  Then he would leave the house much more than he did... Which is the real sign. They know when its their time. This went on for about two weeks until I decided to take him to the vet where they said he had lost over half of his weight since he was in last and that it was time. And they put him down there an then.. Was one of the most upsetting things I have ever had to do. BUT  I also know it was the right thing to do so that he did not suffer any more than he had too.

Its been like a decade since he went. I still miss him and think about him almost every day..   😞   

ogwdByY.jpg

6fcgwkl.jpg

hRZyBTG.jpg

• Like 3

2 hours ago, kelly campbell said:

Sorry to hear this and I hope everything gets better soon.  I am a dog person but like all animals I understand the feelings.