Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson SJN

BennyBoy

Could I get some help on identifying this guitar. Year and make. The sticker is gone from the porthole.  My daughter is wanting to buy it from a friend. The serial number is 926645. It's stamp on the headstock and also says Made in USA under that. It's in really good shape. How much should she pay for it? Thanks for all the help. This is my first post so hopefully I did this right.

Screenshot_20220830-121644_Facebook.jpg

Screenshot_20220829-210530_Facebook.jpg

Screenshot_20220829-210530_Facebook.jpg

2 hours ago, DanvillRob said:

You should be able to get expert advice on this guitar.

Appears to be a Natural Southern Jumbo, (SJN).....but I'm not the guy to give you the entire scoop.

Looks like a GREAT guitar.

I'm not an expert either, but I own a Southern Jumbo, and this one doesn't have the slope of mine. Advanced Jumbo, perhaps? In a natural top? 

Edited by Sevendaymelee

1 hour ago, Sevendaymelee said:

I'm not an expert either, but I own a Southern Jumbo, and this one doesn't have the slope of mine. Advanced Jumbo, perhaps? In a natural top? 

The SJ was re-designed with square shoulders in 1963.  At the time they were still officially named Southerner Jumbo.  

Edited by zombywoof
  • Like 1

The serial number indicates the guitar was built in 1968 or the early-1970s as Gibson tended to roll serial numbers over.  As it has the "Made in the USA" stamp though that means 1970 to 1972,  To narrow it down further you would have to look a the bracing.  If it has the now infamous Double X bracing that would mean the guitar was built in 1971 or 1972,   

I do not have a clue as to value as I do not keep up with such things any longer.  You might check the usual suspects such as  Reverb or completed auctions on eBay.

Edited by zombywoof

1 hour ago, zombywoof said: