Gibson Brands Forums

Computer Games How far we have come

Rabs

I dont know if we have many gamers on here so if anyone will be interested but I saw something today that really shocked me....  

I have been playing games since I was about 8 and was even in the games industry for about 15 years..  I have experience. And yet while I have watched graphics get better over the years I wasnt quite ready for this...

So this is what a first person shooter looked like when I started playing PC games

Today this is what we have..  Its from a new PC game coming called  Unrecord..  Just holy sh*t..  Wow

Edited by Rabs
  • Like 1

I'm sure it looks even more impressive on a large HD screen too. My son is into gaming. I've seen a couple of his PS 5 games and they look and sound unbelievable. One his older PS4 I tried out his total immersion virtual reality kit. That can become truly scary.

As for me, once in a blue moon I indulge in a bit of retro gaming. Old Amiga stuff. I loved the Amiga computers. I understood them and I was in control. 

Man.   I never went beyond "Burgertime" on the old Intellevision II.  [wink]   And wasn't really all that good at it.

I thought some of those home gaming games are good for an occasional diversion.  But It bothers me that so many have spent so much time and money in the playing of them.  Often to the detriment of their ability to truly and reasonably socialize with their fellow man.  Plus so many young and still developing brains and minds spending so much time with the games that have overwhelming violent content disturbs me too. 

Whitefang

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 minutes ago, Whitefang said:

Man.   I never went beyond "Burgertime" on the old Intellevision II.  [wink]   And wasn't really all that good at it.