Gibson Brands Forums

New bass day!

Guitar God

Got a new bass today. Ordered it on Reverb last week and it came in today. It's a 2003 Music Man S.U.B model. I've been wanting a Music Man bass for years. I've been looking through Reverb for awhile and stumbled upon this one. What sold me on this one is that it's 100% passive. Passive EQ and pickup. I'm primarily a guitarist, so this is completely fine with me. Plus, I really like how it looks, too. Under $1,000, too. Yes, it is a USA a made model. Played it a bit acoustically and it feels great and built like a tank. Going to restring it and do some jamming on it in a bit.  Going to eventually get some Dunlop straplocks for it, too. Anyway, here's a picture:

onwdHjk.jpg

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Dig it.

I've played a lot of bass in my day and love it.

I started when a bass player quit in a country/50's rock band in the mid/late 70's. I knew the notes, but was a guitar player. The drummer was fantastic, and he taught me how to be a bassist. We'd do accents and trick break stuff, there was a guy who played sax and steel guitar. And sang and harmonized. He'd play sax on the 50's rock and steel on the country crying songs. I loved playing bass on the country swing stuff and the outlaw music was new back then and very hot.

I still have a Mexican Fender Jazz and a Carvin 4:10/redeye horn, R1000 rig.

Very cool indeed.

• Like 2

I’ve played Bass a lot as well.. Started in my first Band.. I was delegated the job because I was the worst Guitarist in the Band! LOL.. We played 3 chord 50’s & 60’s Rock & real R&B….. 

I’ve always been the Lead Vocalist & preferred playing Rhythm Guitar.. Not Bass.. But, playing Bass helped make me a better Guitar Player..

I didn’t know it was supposed to be hard to sing & play Bass at the same time.. So I just did it the best I could.. LOL! Then Mc Cartney came along…….