Gibson Brands Forums

335 - Figured. Pre-purchase beginner advice please.

rob 64

Hi all,

I am still a beginner, having started playing around 2 years ago in my late 50s. I am not a good player but enjoy it so much that I am going to over-indulge myself for my forthcoming milestone birthday with a 335, after thinking about lots of alternatives.

Having watched many online videos of demos and reviews, it really is the sound and look that I like. I play mostly 60s to current day pop, rockabilly, 70s/80s punk/new wave. I attempt blues and would love to one day be able to play some basic jazz but am a long way off that. As you'll all know, the 335 has been iconic with all these genres. I love the warm mellow tone and choosing the 335 was a close run thing with the Standard 50s Les Paul but that neck was just too thick for me and I prefer the look of the 335.

I really like the Figured Ice Tea model. In the UK, this retails at £3,700 but over the last few weeks many retailers (who hardly ever discount Gibsons here) have dropped the price to £3,200 with some going as low as £2,800. These are all ADs and I am delighted at such savings but the cynical side of me was wondering if there is a negative reason for this? The standard model in Vintage Sunburst, which was £600 cheaper is now the same price/more expensive than the figured top. Does the Figured Ice Tea model have a problem which I'm not aware of? It's a really big purchase for me and I don't want to get it wrong.