Gibson Brands Forums

Super speedy or a Cruiser?

Rockin365

I gotta say my preference is for fast machines but i do like the odd custom cruiser or old harley.

My last bike was an old Yamaha RD 350LC IN Kenny roberts colours. like the one below.

Great fun, I whipped a fireblade from central London to Blackheath hill on one of these.

Dangerous but fun. lol :-k)

I was a parts manager for 5 yrs in central london.

1980-rd350lc.jpg

The weather for biking is here and am thinking about a new bike,

the wifey aint too happy about it though.

0b147650@Suzuki-Hayabusa.jpg

02suzuki-gsxr1000-k9.jpg

cycle1_1.jpg

media?id=882751339

Goes fast, stops fast, stump-pulling torque, comfortable enough for 12 hours in the saddle (half a ton with me in the saddle and the tank and bags full) and it doesn't mark its territory. I had my speedy fun on Triumphs and Nortons when I was younger and many of our members here weren't even twinkles in their Mama's eye. No such thang as any ol' monkey-butt bikes back then.

IMG_0907.jpg

Ive always had a passion for bikes,

My father used to own a single cylinder vellocette 500cc venom which he built himself from a box of bits.

It was a venom thruxton cross.

Was basically like the bike below but with the racing seat as shown in bottom pic.

At 100mph it felt like nothing ive ever experienced again!

Vellocette%20Clubmanised%20Venom%201963%20500cc_jpg.jpg

getimage.php?scm_num=22574

I'm still waiting for Harley to do something like a V-Rod with a big inch Screaming Eagle motor.

Long, low, lean like a drag bike with nothing in the way of dressy doo-dads.

In other words, everything a cruiser is not.

No Custom bike builders are doing anything of the sort, it's all Monster this, Chopper that, with no function whatsoever.