Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Explorer advice

amyjhill

Hi

I’m looking at getting some advice. I’ve been playing guitar for almost 18 months and I have a Fender Strat, Jaguar and Telecaster.

I have been looking at the Gibson Explorer but I’m only short (5’1) and I don’t know if they are too big. 

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Amy, Welcome!

It’s kinda hard to tell for sure but my guess is the dimensions would be okay ergonomically, they can be fun to play… but they also can be  2-3 lbs heavier than your Jaguar or Tele.  A well placed strap button will help with balance and avoid neck dive.  Any nearby you can heft?  And if the full size really doesn’t work for you, there have been special smaller versions made over the years.   

Hm. You should try one if possible, but if you can play a Strat with its longer scale length, I can't imagine an Explorer would be a problem. And they're very comfortable, both standing up and sitting. I think it'll be fine.

Posted (edited)

Electric bodies aren’t quite the same as an acoustic body

a large acoustic could be for some hard to play.

electrics for the most part have settled into two basic neck scales . So once a guitar is slung on a strap the neck should fall pretty much in the “right” spot regardless of body shape/Size. 
long scale baritone guitars would be harder to play

Edited by Eracer_Team

17 minutes ago, amyjhill said:

Thanks for the help! I’m planning on popping into my local store and having a go on one to see how it feels before making any decisions on whether to buy one

That's the best route, and really the only way to see if it's for you. I'll bet you will like it 😃

Thanks everyone! I’ve looked at the body dimensions and it’s not that much bigger than my Jaguar. I’m going to go and try one and get saving if it works for me! 

• Like 1

Hi Amy,