Gibson Brands Forums

Definitely never seen one of these LPs

Riffster

I have seen similar guitars but they are Spirits, just have not seen one being called a Les Paul. The Kahler is factory just like many other Gibsons had them at the time. I actually like the doulble cutaway body on this one.

I am jot buying this one, I am looking for an LP but I am holding for a special one.

• 1 month later...

Noob here, just registered so I could access this thread.

I DID buy this one. Not precisely the LP I was looking for.. but rarity, condition, perfectly pristine unmolested originality and Tim Shaw Pups sold me. (dosn't hurt a bit that the seller was a dead straight shooter and a serious guitar guy as well).

Not turning up the photo I ran across last week w/ Rick Nielsen playing his DC-XPL (AAA Burst top). Not a Kahler guy m'self, but there's no denying this thing's authenticity. Ser# 80805649 MADE IN U S A on back of explorer headstock. Pearloid markers on ebony board. Pat Appl For stickers on pup surrounds. Doesn't exhibit the Norlin pancake construction I was afraid it would, maple cap (3pc) over what appears to be a solid 1-piece mahogany body (if you can't find a seam under nitro that's been shrinking for 24yrs, looks like a pretty safe assumption). Maple neck.

I'm blowing out original routing sawdust in the control cavity, cleaning up original polishing compound here & there. Just astoundingly original.

And the icing on the cake, Shaw pickups stamped 373 185 bridge and 372 285 at the neck. (Jan & Feb 1985).

Okay, so the pots are a little scratchy, little lacquer checking in a few spots.. but this thing just sings. Feel like I hit the Lotto.