Gibson Brands Forums

Playing slide

Silenced Fred

Oh man, do I ever feel your pain. I started playing with some guys recently who keep suggesting songs off of Allmann Brothers records... "Done Somebody Wrong", "One Way Out"... I'm having to do some serious wood shedding on the slide to handle those Duane licks. I've always wanted to learn that stuff, but now the pressure is on.

Surprisingly, I am finding it not as complex as I thought it would be. Most of the licks are quite simple once you have the right tuning (open E chord for the Duane Allmann stuff). However, it requires a lot of restraint and subtlety - not things I am good at personally. Finger muting really cleans things up too - you don't want those extra notes ringing out all the time. That guy had such a touch...

We are also doing some ZZ Top, and his slide playing is a lot more reckless -which I personally find easier than the restraint Duane had. Billy G just lets the overtones fly. So you might try playing slide over "Just Got Paid" (also open E, btw).

Anyway, I remember reading somewhere that when Duane first started using the slide, his band mates practically begged him to ditch it because it sounded like cats fighting. He persevered though, and it came together (quite brilliantly in fact). So keep at it.

I've played a bit of slide here and there, and I intend to get good at it at some point. Right now other stuff is distracting me from it though.

If you haven't noticed, Arlen Roth has a whole bunch of lessons teaching slide in various tunings right here at Gibson.com. They're pretty good, even if you just watch them for some inspiration.

I mess with slide now and then and only as an accent to waht I am playing, open tunning is almost a must. The "play on the fret" thing messed me up for a while since I play in stadnard tunning.