Gibson Brands Forums

need advice.

bigfatblood

I've only just been in the market for a new acoustic for a few days. I've decided to go Gibson over Martin. I'm an absolute novice when it comes to acoustics.

There are two I'm tossing up between...

2006 Gibson LG 1 re-issue, 1 of 20 made, with pickup. Roughly $1700

and

New, scratch n Dent (dont care) Gibson J 45. $2300

I've played the J 45 and it sounds heavenly. Prefer the look and smaller body of the LG 1 though. Has anyone played an LG 1??? This is a 2006 re-issue, and i'll be getting it from the states (live in Australia) so won't get to play it before I buy.

Is the LG 1 a noticably inferior guitar? I am aware that it was initially Gibson's "budget" guitar. Will it compare to the J 45?

I wish I could try out one of the new LG1's to see how it compares to my 1964 LG1. I am assuming if they stayed true to the original, it is a ladder braced guitar like mine. The tone of a ladder braced vs. X braced guitar is quite different. It is more of a boxy muted tone that is perfect for blues fingerstyle, 60's folk music, several Beatles tunes and it shines in DADGAD tuning as well for Celtic type music.

That said, if I were given the choice of a LG1 or a J45 sight unseen, I would most likely grab the J45 as it is a more versitle guitar overall for strumming and fingerstyle. I have my Taylor and my Gibson AJ for when I prefer a more modern sound with sustain, overtones and such but I really love my LG1 and many times is the one I grab when I am just sitting down to noodle on a guitar due to the comfortable size, quite tone and ease of playability. Played through my Genz Benz amp, it is even more fun for blues licks and jamming with my Ipod.

I can't give you an exact comparison but I have a few observations based on what I have owned.

I have an LG-2 with a red spruce top- it has great tone and can cut through ...some, but it isn't a big body guitar and will not ever have the power of one.