Gibson Brands Forums

The tone knobs go to "10"!

Witmer

I finally got a couple of hours to really mess around with the tone controls of the guitar itself, and I have to say that I'm really surprised and pleased by the difference between both tone knobs on 7, and both on 10. Much more cutting, rock-ready sound! I'll still use my old settings for sweet, round clean sounds, but wow... thanks for the suggestions that I revisit this.

Disclaimer: I started playing electric guitar as an adult, so I know I'm way behind the curve, here...

What are you saying ' date=' you like it full on or at 7 ?[/quote']

All tone at 7 is warmer and rounder, but tones full-on give the more aggressive, cutting sound I was looking for. In fact, I'm now rolling the bridge volume back to 5, since having all knobs on 10 seems to sound the same as having the selector switch set to the bridge position. This is weird to me, as is the fact that with the bridge pickup set to 5, the neck pickup is noticeably quieter when selected by itself.

But anyway, I now know how to find almost twice as many shades of tone, just by tweaking the controls on the guitar. Nice!

Both of my tone knobs are on 7 as well. Any higher the bridge pickup sounds shrill.

What kind of LP do you have? (Or is it more relevant to ask about the pickups?)

Either way, that's an interesting observation. I wouldn't call my new sound "shrill," but it does satisfy my wish for a thinner, more cutting sound - thereby assuaging somewhat my GAS for a Tele...

What kind of LP do you have? (Or is it more relevant to ask about the pickups?)

Either way' date=' that's an interesting observation. I wouldn't call my new sound "shrill," but it does satisfy my wish for a thinner, more cutting sound - thereby assuaging somewhat my GAS for a Tele...[/quote']

I have 82 Les Paul Standard with Tim Shaw pickups. I also have 500K Audio Pots and two .022 PIO cap.