Gibson Brands Forums

LP Studio

Shade

Hi,

In another thread I read that the tone poti of some older LP models only work like "on/off". I have an ´83 LP Studio Custom, which I bought several years ago. And when I started playing again recently, I recognized that turning the tone knob didn`t seem to have much influence on the sound. I`m not the first owner of the guitar, so I can`t say anything about the history of this guitar. I also didn`t play for a longer time, so it could just be the guitar has to be checked...

Does anybody know, if the tone poti in these models only work like "on/off" or if turning them should gradually change the sound? (Or is it just a question of volume? I`m just a beginner after long years without really playing, thus the simple "newbie-question" ;-) )

Thanks for your help!

Does anybody know' date=' if the tone poti in these models only work like "on/off" or if turning them should gradually change the sound? (Or is it just a question of volume? I`m just a beginner after long years without really playing, thus the simple "newbie-question" ;-) )[/quote']

There's no on/off like functions in a potentiometer. They're either linear or logarithmically variable resistors.

If your tone control seems to have little effect and nothing is broken, it's likely down to one or several of :

- too large potentiometer value

- too small capacitor

- hearing damage from all those years of rock'n'roll... ;-)

If you want more treble bleed (darker tone), use a bigger capacitor and/or smaller potentiometer.

If you want a greater tonal range, use a bigger pot and a bigger capacitor.

If you want a different response curve for your tone control, you could swap out the (presumably linear) pot for a logarithmic one and wire it so that the onset of the tone control becomes more sudden with relation to the knobs position.

DJ

--

^ historic resissue tone pots sound like "on/off" switches. They're linear, yes.