Gibson Brands Forums

Ideas on how to write songs

mooboo

I've been playing guitar for a few years and I want to start writing my own music. I can come up with chord progressions easy (duh) but melodies kill me. Lyrics I can do if I try hard enough but just what to sing does not come easy. Does anyone have any techniques for writing melodies. I'm trying to write country songs too (for a challenge) but really any kind of advice will help! Thanks everyone!

I keep a running tab of "babble tapes" where I just record new ideas without thinking about it. Then I go back and put songs together from my various babbles. Try just humming a melody and recording it. Then go back and lay some chords under it. I think it's easier this way than to start with some chords and then try to find a melody on top of it...

I usually get a drum groove and bass line happening and the see what chords go over the top. Once I have that worked out I just fool around with different melody lines that go well with the rest of it. Once I have my melody line the words just seem to fall in place....

I've been playing guitar for a few years and I want to start writing my own music. I can come up with chord progressions easy (duh) but melodies kill me. Lyrics I can do if I try hard enough but just what to sing does not come easy. Does anyone have any techniques for writing melodies. I'm trying to write country songs too (for a challenge) but really any kind of advice will help! Thanks everyone!

you know what kills me?

I come up with the verse and chorus in 15 minutes. Two DAYS later I still can't come up with a bridge that matches the chords of the verse and chorus.

I tried listening to it over, and getting into a electric solo, but I cant do that, because there are still some kinks in the rest to work out.

you know what kills me?

I come up with the verse and chorus in 15 minutes. Two DAYS later I still can't come up with a bridge that matches the chords of the verse and chorus.