Gibson Brands Forums

First Gibson

Gibson CS

Hey guys,

I have a rather interesting situation, I just started playing about 6 months ago, I didn't know what I was doing when I bought my guitar (I just wanted a whammy bar, 'cause I thought they were cool) and I got a $200 Fender Strat.

Well through an interesting turn of events for my birthday my parents want to get me "A guitar that I won't need to update until I go platinum." so basically, I have an unlimited budget.

I know a reasonable amount about guitars, I know I want a Les Paul.

which brings us to you guys, what is a good LP for my situation.

Thanks

-oilpit-

Lucky kid.

I'm not going to even make a suggestion. Honestly, if your parents buy you an expensive Les Paul - you won't appreciate it. Work your way up to it.

My parents bought me a Fender Squire Stratocaster when I was a kid. I couldn't imagine them buying me a $2,000 or even a $3,000 + guitar.

My parents bought me a Fender Squire Stratocaster when I was a kid. I couldn't imagine them buying me a $2' date='000 or even a $3,000 + guitar.[/quote']

Wow! You got a Fender? Even a Squire. Back when I was a kid and had to walk barefoot in the snow uphill to school, Fenders were at least considered real guitars. I would have died for a Fender. When I was a Kid, my

first electric was a Tiesco.

3 pick-ups, bound neck, and a whammy bar.

Looking back with a little education under my belt, I would still love to have that Tiesco back.

They really were some pretty cool easy playing decent sounding guitars.

I guess in reality I sort of wish I was still a kid.

I would wait a little before investing in an LP. I started with an no-name piece of junk in 1984--then an Ibanez, then sold that and bought an Ovation acoustic, then sold that and bought a Fender Squire (which I hated), then sold that and bought a Tacoma acoustic. I then sold that and my wife just bought me an LP Standard for my 40th birthday. So it took me a long time to graduate to the LP.