Gibson Brands Forums

what is a 1966 lg gibson worth

marlamiller

What model is it' date=' do you have pictures ? Some Gibson guitars from that time could be worth $15,000 t0 $25,000 US Dollars[/quote']

well i have a serial number 369264 so i think it is a 1964 lg .My husband thought it was a 66.It has the slim neck on it.I took it to Kalamazoo,Mi and they put me a new bridge on it.the one that was on it was plastic and they put a rosewood bridge.the pick guard was gone and they put a new one on it.I am new to this sight so i will have to figure out how to post pic.

post this question on the acoustic forum. many members have one of the 4 lg models. there is the lg-0, lg-1, lg-2 and lg-3. i believe the lg-0 was all mahogany so the guitar would be all light brown in colour. the lg-1 and lg-2 were similar except for the braces inside the guitar. these two were usually sunburst in colour. i've seen them for sale on ebay. here is a general search result.

http://instruments.shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m38.l1313&_nkw=gibson+lg&_sacat=619

like i say, the people on the acoustic side know it all so don't be afraid to ask them. they're pretty nice, too.

Sounds like an LG1, as 99.9% of them had this cheap plastic bridge replaced by a wood one after it cracked.

$800 seems like a fair market value for this vintage entry model.

I am looking at a 1967 myself, in pretty good overall condition (and with a replaced wood bridge) offered at $899.

In case this helps...

I paid $1100 for my 1964 Gibson LG1 and then spent another $500 to have the neck reset, new bone saddle cut and installed and a K & K mini western pickup system installed.