Gibson Brands Forums

Should I buy this Les Paul

zEr0

Hey guys first post here!

I guess I'll introduce myself before going to the point. My name is Fred and I live in Italy, Im a music student in COnservatory but Ive always been more into electric guitar playing than classical. For the last 5 years or so I've been playing Ibanez guitars with very fast necks and floyds and only lately I've found the joy of playing an aged Les Paul with a huge neck and a fixed bridge. I'm very impressed at how my Standard Les Paul can sound just as aggressive as most of my Heavy Metal shredders.

The problem is i'm not a rosewood lover. At all. Specially on clean sounds I cant stand it and if on top of that you add the fact that LP's dont have single coils....... well, lets just say that Im just as unhappy with my clean sound as Im happy with my distorted sound.

So I was thinking of a custom which has the ebony fretboard (by far my favorite board wood) and I came across this beauty:

http://www.customguitarcollector.com/photo/Gibson%20Les%20Paul%20Custom%201976/

Im just loving the looks of it and Im sure it sounds reaaaaally hot but Im worried about those custom switches on the front. Do they devalue the guitar a lot (she's a 1976)?

Would you guys own this guitar, or should I wait for an original one?

later

Fred

pS excuse my poor english!!!

A 70s Les Paul Custom isn't a particularly high-cost guitar to begin with, from what I've seen, so I'm not sure what the switches will do to the value.

I will say, though, those are excellent pictures. They were actual size (or very close to it), and the definition made them look like the actual guitar was in front of me.