Gibson Brands Forums

Your guitar purchase history?

guitarman8

I'm a newbie here but got a great idea to be talked about.

I'll start it off with my first real guitar bought for me by my sister. A 60's candy apple red Mosrite Ventures model $300 with case.

Ok from there I went to a Murray the K rock show in New York and on the bill were to new groups from England, The Fresh Cream and The Who. This changed things, I wanted the sustain sound, needed it.

So it was 1968 and at Manny's in New york I bought my first Les Paul a 1968 Fretless Wonder. But I couldn't bend the strings with those frets so Dan Armstrong in New York put bass frets on it for me. I used this Les Paul with with a newly purchased full stack Marshall 100 watt super lead.

Costs - $500 for the Les Paul with case

$900 for the full stack Marshall.

Ah these were beautiful times, great instruments and amps and prices. I'll bet you have some similar feelings?

That's a brief run of some of the fun I've had with guitars. Wonderful hobby

Notible Gibsons I've owned.

1968 ES335

1969 ES355

1976 Explorer special edition

1970's natural Flying V

I've played some of the greats from a collector friend of mine.

1959 Sunburst

1960 Cherry Sunburst

1957 Les Paul Gold Top

1958 Flying V he bought from Ronnie Montrose for $6,000. (tuff times I guess)

1958 3 pickup black custom.

1958 ES335 Dot neck

These guitars played and sounded so very sweet, warm and crisp would be a good description.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

ok, I'll go next

1) Free classical POS - Got it for helping an evicted alchi move his stuff out of an apt. Needed string and bridge glued

2) Yamaha acoustic - found it in the advertising paper. ($50???) Nice sound, but wanted solid top

3) Charvel Charvette by Jackson - Thought Jackson's were supposed to be good (high end ones are) got guitar, Peavey KB amp, stand, and 10 cords, and tuner for $150 - sold the amp for $150 = free guitar