Gibson Brands Forums

Maestro by Gibson...are these legit?

FiveAces

I'm somewhat new to Gibson guitars so I'm not that familiar with their product lines, but I happened to be looking for a used LP on Craigslist and ran across this......

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/msg/1432008742.html

and the specific link it points to....

http://www.gibson.com/en%2Dus/Divisions/Maestro/Electrics/Single%20Cutaway%20Carvetop/

I don't recall ever seeing any of this line at GC or other music shops. Are these "Maestro by Gibson" guitars equivilant to the"Squier by Fender" guitar line? ... kinda meant to reach the more affordable minded (cheap?) buyers. Obviously they can't be compared to the regular Gibson line in terms of quality, but, just like Fender Squiers, some models can be quite competitive as to how well made they are for the price.

Are they worth it, or just wait and go straight for a real Gibson?

Any comments or comparisons would be helpful. Thanks

+1

What else? Poplar/Maple top (they can't specify which?), die cast tuners, one piece wraparound bridge, bolt on neck (bolt on neck!!!). Good grief. I've seen one of these, in Costco I think. Came as a package with an amp and cord etc. The whole deal looked really crappy...like a toy or a prop to trash on stage.

+1

What else? Poplar/Maple top (they can't specify which?)' date=' die cast tuners, one piece wraparound bridge, bolt on neck (bolt on neck!!!). Good grief. I've seen one of these, in Costco I think. Came as a package with an amp and cord etc. The whole deal looked really crappy...like a toy or a prop to trash on stage.

[/quote']

You got that right... I wish all of the guitar bashers would get cheap guitars like the Maestro to destroy rather than their nice LP's or even Strats. +1 to the "Toy Look" you get what you pay for...

These guitars are produced under the Gibson/Baldwin Music Education Program (or something to that effect). They're beginner-grade instruments.