Gibson Brands Forums

School me on Customs...

Nick Beach

I just turned 18 yesterday and I think I'm finally ready to get a LP Custom(I've been saving since I was 12, But when I would get cash SG's always sparked my interest) As a mainly SG player I will admit that I'm new to LP's. I've only had one and it is an Epi standard.

I don't have enough cash for a new guitar (my bank account is about 2,500) But I would like to go used. So what years are good, what years are bad and what years have the best bang for your buck? I would like a 79 for sentimental reasons, but if that year is bad then I would get something else.

The guitar center in Phoenix, Arizona has a 1976 custom wine red (beautiful) for $2400... 602-375-3800 ask for Wally... And no I don't work there...

I bought a 1999 les paul custom last year for $1500 (steal) off of craigslist... Best deal on a guitar ever... No regrets at all... We should all own at least one custom... They are incredible guitars... And I believe they have the best tone of all the les paul lines... I also think the action and playability is superb...

Just out of curiosity - what makes you think there are good or bad years? For instance, if I said "2005 was a great year" does that mean that every Gibson made in 2005 was a great guitar? If you're more concerned with having a 7xxx9xxx serial number than having a great guitar, by all means, buy a '79.

1979 was during the Norlin era. Read the first few stickies here and you should get a general idea for them.

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/norlin-years/ Also read this sticky. http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/gibson-les-pauls/50210-gibson-les-paul-101-a.html These should answer most of your questions.

Is $2,500 all the money you have in the world or is that your guitar fund?

I think you can pretty much get any Custom from the mid '70s to '08 for $2,500, more or less.

If you buy a new Custom, you take a big hit.