Gibson Brands Forums

newbie post....replacement saddle for B-45-12?

mikeoso

Hi, folks...I'm a FNG and this is my first post. I have a seriously mojo-ed '64 B-45-12, and it's still got the original adjustable rosewood saddle. I'm pretty sure that a Tusq or whatever would give some better tone and power...but can I buy one? Everything I see for sale is clearly for 6 strings, and is too short. I don't particularly need to keep it adjustable, but I don't want to go the whole route of putting in a rosewood piece ansd slotting it for a standard saddle. I'd like a drop-in, if such a thing exists. What does the board say?

oh, for an intro: I'm a retired teacher, live in Iowa, and run a parrot sanctuary

Hi Gillian, I recognized your name too. The parrots are fine...they have their own building now...you can see it at www.iowaparrotrescue.org. I need homes for 10 macaws, 4 amazons, 5 ringnecks, 14 cockatiels, and a partridge in a parrot tree.

Mike so you still have that B45 ? I remember seeing it for sale some months back and I was tempted. I'm real surprised it didn't sell, the price sure was fair. I've owned lot's of 60's Gibson 12's and my favorite was a 64 like yours with the pin bridge. For my money thats the ultimate 12 string.

Mike can't you shape your own out of bone ? You may have to glue two blanks together to get the width. If you can't do it I'm sure there are lot's of luthiers you could get to do it. I'd remove the two adjusting screws and the spring underneath the saddle and make the new saddle to fit into the slot without the little wings on each end that the original saddle has that fit between the screws. That way you can always put it back to original if and when you sell it.