Gibson Brands Forums

man, did i have a surreal day

jannusguy

here it is in a nut shell: some of you know i'm in the concert promotion business. have been for 30 years. FWIW, i have a few connections and i used one today to interact with an artist i've never worked with before. Jackson Browne. you'll see i have a roy smeck in my signature. when i bought it, i found out after the fact, that it was a prototype for a potential JB signature model. i have always wanted to find out what happened with this model, since. i've had it for 2.5 yrs, at least and nothing has changed re: further development. anyway, i wrangled the opportunity today, as JB was in town, to ask the man himself. hilarity ensued!

let me just say, i was shown a level of kindness and courtesy i had no expectation of. i am on cloud 9. i received a guitar lesson from JB himself. shape of a heart in D. he showed me how to play it, as i had asked what key he played it in, then he thrust the (my) guitar at me and said "have at it". i choked.

i'm gonna send up this tune to the guy who wrote it and recorded it? i don't think so.

during sound check, he presented and described all the guitars in his "quiver" as he called it, to me , as if i mattered. we chatted back/forth about pickups, wood, etc. and ..... he was very frank in responding to my need to know the likelihood of a JB sig smeck. (don't hold yer breath, btw). same with jorma's J35, oddly enough. i love me some gibsons but they need to do some PR work. when i showed up with my smeck. the 1st comments were about the nashville "wood" issue.

anyway, i choked. JB says to me, "go ahead and play,pretend i'm not here!". too funny.

i asked him if i could make a little movie of "shape" as he played it. my own little youtube. a good learning tool. he said no. it's all good. i'll never forget it.

i was in the presence of greatness tonight. an artist i admire and a bevy of the finest crafted guitars on the planet. Gibson Acoustics..