Gibson Brands Forums

I need knowledge!!!

scbryan7

Hey folks. So I got my dream guitar, THE classic heritage cherry gibson sg standard. Now, I am completely new to this style guitar as I previously owned a Jackson in my metal days before I discovered Rock n Roll and the Blues. Naturally, I've got some questions and curiosities and hope some nice people can provide me with the knowledge I need.

1) I got it brand spankin new and the neck is slightly warped. The strings buzz especially on the lower strings. Now is this a problem that I can have an experienced guitar tech setup and cure or is it something that is part of the guitar due to its production and I should exchange it?

2) Also, I left the thing in it's case in my van over night and the next day when I went to play it there was condensation on the pickups. Why does this happen? Is it significantly bad for the guitar?

3) And then I noticed that the fretboard has tiny cracks in the mahogany all the way down. I can't remember if they were there before or not. Is it from leaving it in the van with the temperature change? Is it just normal breaking in for this instrument? Or, do they come that way and I'm being completely paranoid?

Thank you in advance for any help I recieve. Your efforts are much appreciated, as is any other info a new SG owner needs to know. [biggrin]

Did you try the guitar before buying ? Did you notice any buzzing on the strings ? String buzz can be caused by many things - and in most cases is easily rectified.

How low did the temperature drop overnight ? It's always a good idea with any instrument to avoid extremes of temperature and humidity - and to avoid rapid changes.

The rosewood fretboard will not have a perfectly smooth surface.

Post some pictures - including macros of the fretboard if you can.