Gibson Brands Forums

Help a relic out!

Cruznolfart

Although I've bought a few as gifts, I don't really know squat about mp3 players. I've decided to go ahead and get one, all it has to do is store music files. I don't give a rat's rump about video, games, day-planning, net-surfing or taking pictures. I just wanna load some files onto it and play 'em back on various devices. Time to move on from my cd's. :-

So...without further ado, what are the opinions with respect to best-bang-for-buck, bare-bones mp3 player? I don't care about brands but durability is important.

Thanks folks. I do appreciate your help. If it doesn't have moving parts, I have a hard time understanding it at all. [blush]

I had a Creative Muvo player before the iPods came out. It was pretty basic - no display, etc. I have no experience with any of their newer devices. Since then I have two iPods and an iPhone. I'm completely happy with all three. I love making playlists - it's like mix tapes but easier and longer. I have all my cool s**t within easy access in the car on my 20gb (old school I know). I also have a Nano which I rotate music into. It's small and more portable -- great for working out or slipping into your pocket. I have music on my iPhone, but rarely listen to it. Probably because i have the other two. Generally I don't use ear buds or headphones. Instead I plug them into my car stereo, home stereo, stereo in my garage, etc.

Not sure exactly the info you are looking for, but that is my mp3 player experience in general.

I kinda like iPods for the same reason I like Windows... It mostly works.

I bought Mrs. Riverside an iPod Nano 16g for her Christmas gift.

http://www.apple.com/ipodnano/

16g is enough.

160g is more than she would ever use.

My entire library is only 22.5g. Some of that is the crap that my daughters filled up with stuff that I don't listen to...

There's something to be said for the 800lb gorilla.