Gibson Brands Forums

Dumping on Gibson

maninblack

I just called a new, local dealer of boutique and high end guitars to inquire about a Collings D1A I saw on their website. They just opened this year so I have no prior experience. I casually mentioned to him I was looking at Gibson Legend but wanted to try some other Hog/Adi guitars too. Really I just wanted to make sure they'd be open this holiday weekend. But when I mentioned Gibson it was like I flipped a switch. This guy just went off. "No matter what you do, whether you buy a Collings or not, do not buy a Gibson EVER. Trust me!" He proceeds to go on a 10 minute rant about the Nashville raid, almost certain bankruptcy, attempted takeovers by Peavy, secret manufacturing of Gibson's in China, and all kinds of other illegal or underhanded stuff that "hasn't even hit the mainstream yet." He caps it all off with a few shots at how lousy their build quality is.

I am left feeling cold. Everything this guy says about the business dealings could be true or partially true. How would I know? I've also heard from a Gibson dealer recently that there have been some personnel shake-ups in Bozeman. That's never a good sign. But what I wonder is if this guy has ever played a Gibson acoustic? I have around 12 Bozeman Gibson's right now that have more soul and character than any other guitars I've touched. I've got some very nice Collings and Martins, but at the end of the day I always want that Gibson feel and tone.

When people bash Gibsons its like they might as well be telling me I have tin ears and no taste. Could we all be wrong? Man, it pisses me off.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I get a lot of negative response from salesmen about Gibsons also. What's funny though is almost every mainstream musician I see performing on talk and variety shows is playing a Gibson. Go figure....?

BTW, which of your Gibbies are you playing on the opening of Harlem Fairytale? That's a great song.

Sour Grapes.