Gibson Brands Forums

Is the Gibson Special Faded SG any good?

aradem4

I am wondering if the gibson special faded sg is any good? I have been playing guitar for about 5 years and I enjoy playing metal, hard rock and classic rock like van halen, rush, slayer, metallica, and iron maiden. I like to play softer songs too like stairway to heaven. I have been playing a squir hss fat strat for a couple months and an ibanez gio for several years. I have been jumbling on whether to get a gibson special sg or the gibson special faded sg since the faded is cheaper. i am going to get it at guitar center since the faded for 699.99 and the special goes for 799.99. i am also wondering if it is any good with a line 6 spider IV 75W amp since I might get one of those. thanx for your help

I've had my Special Faded for a year now, and it now sports a Bigsby B5. Between it and my 335, I sold my 1970 LP that had been my main electric since 1997.

Good axe, well made, sounds good (better since I installed chrome pickup covers) and is light and ergonomic.

I have a les paul and the sg.There is no best.Its What you like.The les paul has little more power and sustain.But the sg has more off a aggressive bite.I like em both.But i play the sg most,most because of the small lightweight body and i like the aggressive bite.I had a pickup change with EMG in mine sg special,but the original are good pickups.I just wanted a guitar that i dedicated to metal style music

I put chrome covers on the standard pickups on my Special Faded, and that seems to have given it a sweeter top end. I don't expect to change anything else, and I expect to keep it for awhile.