Gibson Brands Forums

Which (if any) Direct Box Active or Passive?

sjl200

Do any of you use a direct box?

Signal chain guitar(with on board pre-amp/w eq) -trs 1/4 to DI then XLR to house PA -No amp-?

About a 10-15 ft. max cable run.

Does that work for you and what "box" would you recommend?

Manufacturer?

Active?

Passive?

Why?

Thanks....

I was 'told" that one could "plug" into the PA XLR using a DI .

A 1/4 trs from guitar with an active pick-up w preamp/eq to the DI then the XLR out to the PA and get a decent sound.

I have no experience with this set up but would like to NOT carry the amp to this venue. They have a PA some guitars use mic's and others bring an amp and bypass the PA.

I'm lazy so I figure a DI is easy to carry.....if it will sound OK.

Does anybody go Direct to the DI then direct (XLR lowZ) to the mixer in the PA?

If so what make DI do you recomend? then Active or pasive?

I was 'told" that one could "plug" into the PA XLR using a DI .

A 1/4 trs from guitar with an active pick-up w preamp/eq to the DI then the XLR out to the PA and get a decent sound.

I have no experience with this set up but would like to NOT carry the amp to this venue. They have a PA some guitars use mic's and others bring an amp and bypass the PA.

I'm lazy so I figure a DI is easy to carry.....if it will sound OK.

Does anybody go Direct to the DI then direct (XLR lowZ) to the mixer in the PA?

If so what make DI do you recomend? then Active or pasive?

I really want to answer this question, but it's become alphabet soup to my eyes.

Imagine what its doing to me a person who "cant read"[crying]

I guess I am asking can you directly plug an acoustic Guitar with an on board pre-amp directly into a PA mixing boards normal mic input?

I asked the "Fishman tech support" they said yes with a DI (direct box). They also said passive or active.

When I investigate I find all DI box "wiring diagrams to include an amplifier in the "signal chain"