Gibson Brands Forums

Is this a FAKE on eBay?

upl8tr

Hi guys/gals,

Nubie here, looked at the forum for a while but never felt I had anything to contribute till tonight.

Please have a look at this and tell me what you think, I’m no expert but when I saw it, it immediately said FAKE to me?

What do you think?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1984-Gibson-Les-Paul-Custom-Electric-Guitar-Ebony-OHSC_W0QQitemZ280457517754QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar?hash=item414c921aba

or

eBay number: 280457517754

(Very sorry for the Double Post, but I thought I should probably post this here as it concerns a les Paul)

I did some looking at the ebay lp..... I then looked compared photos of an actual les Paul custom. I didn't see anything that was not the same except the pick guard. I do wonder though if that is the original pick guard because more customs came with a black pick guard. I could be wrong though or the person swapped it.

I'd ask for the serial number and call Gibson to verify

I don't know why' date=' but the headstock looks a bit small to me.

Craig[/quote']

Hi, yer i wud have to say that was what first caught my attention, but not just that it "didn’t look right", It was also the fact that I have never seen a LPC where the inlays went under the truss cover and tuning peg washers, WTF?

They are also incredibly poorly inlayed (craftsmanship wise) and the dot of the "I" just looks plain wrong to me, I know there are some gibos with no dots but when they have them, they usually line up with the top of the other letters (I believe).

Anyhoo, at this point I’d like to reiterate, I’m asking rather than stating a fact and what I think on this particular instrument comes from a gut feeling rather than solid knowledge on the subject, however I’d be gutted for all those ppl that have bid on it, if it was fake.

BTW, I checked just before coming on here and it’s already at $1000......

All thoughts welcome.