Gibson Brands Forums

Ways to get rid of fretbuzz

rockman82

i was just thinking about the action. The buzz is mainly from the 1st fret to the 9th.

I raised the action, but still fretbuzz. So i'll try to re intonate the guitar, but im gonna wait until i get new strings, so i can clean the guitar. I've had this set on since last september. So it's overdo for cleaning.

I know about removing the cover, all that. What i mean is getting the rod to turn. It seems that the rod is deep under the nut. I'll put a pic up. I have the allen wrench that came with the guitar. Out of all my years of playing, this is my first time having to do this. And there are no guitar techs around my town.

Before making any adjustments to the truss rod, try a new set of strings. Setting the intonation will not stop a guitar from buzzing.

Edit - I have just read the post above. Do not follow this advice ! Tightening the truss rod will make the buzzing worse !

met1977, what were you thinking of ?

By tightening the truss rod nut 2 or 3 full turns, it will very likely cause serious damage.

First of all, try new strings. If the buzz is still there, you will have to measure the neck relief to find out if an adjustment is necessary. Fret buzz can be caused by several things, so it's best to be cautious and take it step by step.

Before making any adjustments to the truss rod' date=' try a new set of strings. Setting the intonation will not stop a guitar from buzzing.

Edit - I have just read the post above. Do not follow this advice ! Tightening the truss rod will make the buzzing worse !

By tightening the truss rod nut 2 or 3 full turns, it will very likely cause serious damage.

First of all, try new strings. If the buzz is still there, you will have to measure the neck relief to find out if an adjustment is necessary. Fret buzz can be caused by several things, so it's best to be cautious and take it step by step.[/quote']