Gibson Brands Forums

New 61' Reissue

Harrybob

Hey everybody, so about a week ago I bought a new/used '61 reissue, which I think was made in 2001. The serial number is 017870499 and I have sadly been having some problems with it. So heres the backstory.

I went into a local used guitar store planning on spending around 700 dollars for a new guitar. I had been playing a squire strat for three years (I was lucky enough to get one of the much better squires or I would have likely jumped off a bridge having to play it every day for three years) and was intent on buying a new guitar of my own. My dad owns three awesome guitars, and I'm lucky enough to have the ability to play a 56' LP jr. whenever I want along with two other acoustics. However breaking out in a nervous sweat while playing a guitar of that level which technically is not yours can be a bet nerve wracking, and I was almost afraid to have fun with it so I set out to buy my own.

I eventually wound up shelling out a lot more cash than expected buying a 94' PRS CE 24 and returning it a week later for the gibson, for me only a gibson is good enough I suppose[biggrin]. Its just my favorite guitar, I knew I wanted an SG as just everything about them is perfect for me, from the skinny body to the weight to the way it looks and feels. After bringing home the 01' 61' reissue I've been having a great time playing it every day, the thing looks flawless and feels great, however both I and my dad have noticed the darn thing never sounds in tune as much as it feels amazing to play. It has brand new strings on it and was professionally set up the day we bought it, and even though the tuner says it is in tune we both know something sounds off. I figure this is something that can easily be fixed by bringing it into the shop, but I figured I'd ask here as well as make this a sort of introduction to the forum. Heres the only picture I have of it on my computer.

th.5e43e3230f.jpg

Edit-sorry for the monster size pic haha.