Gibson Brands Forums

Looking to pick up my first gibson

McDuff

Okay so I have been playing guitar on and off for about four years but over the last year and a half it has really begun to dig into my skin and I'm looking to upgrading to my first gibson here. I'd prefer a gibson at least because they are beautiful and the few I have played sound and feel amazing. However the gibsons I have fiddled with were a Humming bird and J-200 both of which are way out of my price range. I have been looking at the Ej-200ce as an alternate but have never played with one before. I am used to playing a D97 Washburn and looking for around that quality or slightly better as that guitar is actually my paps, mine is a yamaha that is pretty much made out of failure and buzzing.

I know there was another thread asking for recommendations but I felt it would more or less be hijacking their thread especially since I have further criteria.

Under $1,000

Pref dreadnought body

21 fret or close to it

Steel string definitely

Prefrably a top that has a deep a sound to it I enjoy blues playing

Thanks in advance folks.

I would also recommend taking a peek at an Advanced Jumbo which is a great slope shoulder dread and in my opinion' date=' one of the best sounding guitars coming out of Bozeman today. [/quote']

Not my cup of tea, but would likely be a great guitar for someone called "Bluesbreather!"

Probably out of his price range, though.

Not my cup of tea' date=' but would likely be a great guitar for someone called "Bluesbreather!"

Probably out of his price range, though.[/quote']

I don't know... the ones I always see at GC are priced right at $2000 which is very close to most of the J45's I drool over too. Much less than your typical J200.

***Edit... Sorry, I was skimming and missed the <$1000 price point. [biggrin]

Bluesbreather,