Gibson Brands Forums

J-45 vs J45tv vs J45 rosewood

Soundwarrior

The std J45 has a pickup. 45TVs tend to be lighter, more responsive. No pup. The RW is darker, bassier. metallic top. More of a Neil Young ringing chords deal while the 45/45TV is the classic swiss army knife that does a bit of everything.

They're all great guitars-it's just down to personal taste. JK nailed it in terms of sonic description.

The 45 RW is a bit muddy for me-I prefer a longer scale in a RW guitar to give it a bit more top end sparkle and chime. The AJ is a better bet for a RW slope dread, IMHO.

A lot of folks swear by the TV, I have enjoyed the examples I've played, but as a touring musician I'd personally go for the Std-great stock pickup, slightly more robust built but still amazing sounding.

The J45 is probably the best all-rounder guitar ever built-as JK said, a real Swiss Army knife!

To my ears the mahogany J-45's (whether standard or TV) are what a J-45 has always been about. I've never really liked the sound of the rosewood ones. They are beautiful guitars and like jkinnama says they are punchy, but it's not the classic J-45 sound. Maybe I'll try another rosewood one sometime. At the moment when I want that punchy rosewood sound I use my D-28 They have made some in Koa too. I've never played one and would like to. A mahogany J-45 is hard to beat though!

Soundwarrior, I have a Rosewood J45 and a J45TV Red Spruce. In my experience with the two, the Rosewood sounds very lush. I've described it before as two guitars playing together. It produces a lovely choir-like effect. It has rich, syrupy bass and crystaline highs. Notes decay very lowly after the initial attack, and ring for a long time. To me, it is the more modern sounding of the two guitars. The pick up is excellent.