Gibson Brands Forums

*Les Paul* how is your playing guys? *Les Paul*

Thundergod

Out of curiosity as i have been reading the forum after not being here for a week or so and i have found a lot of posts about how to play faster and guitar lessons...

How would you rate your playing guys? from 1 to 15.

1.- Can you play chords? 1 (this is the starting point, if you have 0 here please get outta here wanker)

2.- Can youplay chord progressions? +1

3.- Can you play them fast? +1

4.- Can you play arpegios? +1

5.- Can you play scales? +1

6.- Do you do leads? +1

7.- Can you play country leads, metal leads, blues leads and jazz? +2

8.- Do you think you could play in a real gigging/recording band as rythm guitarist? +2

9.- Do you think you could play in a real gigging/recording band as a lead guitarist? +2

10.- Have you played, or currently play in a band (non cover) and people actually like your playing? +3

The list i make looking at my reality, i am a studio musician mostly, and happen to have played live more than 500 shows with all kind of bands (from synth pop to salsa!)... for a player that plays classic music, for example, this list would be useless.

My answers from 1 to 10?

1y, 2y, 3y, 4y, 5y, 6y, 7yes tho my country and jazz repertoir is a little too small, 8y, 9n, 10y.

So... i get a 13... not bad, but i wish i had the self confidence to think of myself as a very good lead giutar payer... i currently play lead and rythm guitar in my band but i dont consider myself a very good lead guitar, just below average +:-@ .

(EDIT) I almost forgot: LES PAUL!

GREAT post Thunder... and you were missed, my friend.

I am gonna take this to another level...

Pre-Gibson Les Paul: (or "The Age of Fender"):

Score:9

1. y +1 (don't be mean; if this is you this is EXACTLY where you need to be)

2. y+1

3. y+1

4. n

5. y +1

6. n

7. n

8. y +2

9. n

10. y +3

Post-Gibson Les Paul:

score: 12

change 4, 6 and most of 7 (no jazz)- to yes