Gibson Brands Forums

Velvet Brick - Tracking down the goods...

avidn

Greetings to all.

I am new to joining the forums, but I have browsed for a while now. I thought I would jump in and join since I have just purchased a "used" Gibson SG, on Ebay. Just purchased yesterday, not even in shipment yet. CAN"T WAIT!

What I purchased is a 1980 Gibson SG Firebrand. Everything appears to be original from the pictures, except the pickups, which were changed.

My question is does anybody know the "Exact" original Gibson pickups that this model came with. The Gibson ads for this model state "One exposed front humbucking pickup coupled to an all new exposed super hot specially wound rear "Velvet Brick" super humbucking pickup that features one cream and one black coil."

Any specifics would be appreciated. I have researched somewhat, but have not come up with a definite solution as of yet.

I really would like to replace the pickups with the exact same original style that it came with.

Thanks in advance to any and all replies. =D>/

Well met,

David

After some research I have drawn a few more insights.

The pickups currently, (replacements from original by prior owner), are a Gibson 500T -open HB- in the neck position and a Seymour Duncan APH-1 -open HB- in the bridge position.

The current neck pickup is described by the manufacturer as "Very Hot with excellent sustain and definition."

The current bridge pickup is described by the manufacturer as "Warm, moderate-output humbucker. Great for jazz, blues, classic rock and slide."

The original bridge pickup "Velvet Brick" is described by Gibson as "super hot specially wound", so I don't think the Seymour Duncan APH-1 will stay, especially since I want to get this guitar back to original equipment. From what I saw on the Gibson pickup overview here

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/document?doc_id=100121