Gibson Brands Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Gibson4life

Help With Recording Rig

OK, so I've recently gotten interested in recording and recording studios but I'm also very new to all the gear. What in your opinion is the best recording studio rig under $1500? I have a Mac so I'm just thinking about getting some software and mics. What Rig (software, mics, ect.) would you recommend to some you wants to make beats, and record songs? [thumbup]

Is $1500 your total budget? Hmmm, cannot buy much with that. I would spend the bulk of that on a nice large diaphragm condenser mic. Vocals and acoustic instruments will thank you. A Sennheiser md 421 is great to have for guitar amps and drums. Live, you can get away with a Sure SM57 on a guitar amp, but I wouldn't advise it for the studio.

The best advise I can give you is do not cut corners on microphones. $50k in the best outboard gear won't make a lick of difference if you use cheap, pedestrian microphones.

I definately disagree. IMO mics are the only way to go for recording. Why have a "realistic" simulation when you can just as easily get the real thing. It's really not hard to record with a mic unless you have some problem with using an amp.

My old band used Cubase 5 and a presonus interface. We mainly used Shure sm57s to record guitar and it sounds great. I like to close mic and have another big mic sitting in the room.

All in all I have to say Cubase is very good but ProTools is definately the best. You should get a good interface with plenty of mic inputs (important for when you want to mic drums) and get some good mics. MF has some cool packs that have everything you need to start recording. Also my friend got these short little mic stands that are perfect for micing amps without being obtrusive.

http://mobile.musiciansfriend.com/product/PreSonus-FireStudio-Project-Recording-Package?sku=482341