Gibson Brands Forums

This is how kids have fun now... No more baseball

daveinspain

My senior year, I remember winning the school talent show when my band and I performed Thin Lizzy's "Cowboy Song" and "The Boys Are Back in Town." Fast forward to last year. At my kids high school, the winners of the school talent show were 2 kids who rolled a TV onto the stage and "performed" a song on Guitar Hero.

Some things are just wrong.[biggrin]

I can do the fingering but my problem is the picking hand I still try to play the tune at the real beat it was originally played on the right hand so I usually get boo'd about a minute into the song. But its not from fingering errors but from the error from the picking hang going to fast. Then if I increase the level the fingering hand starts getting sloppy and the notes are dead on... lol I guess I will stay with the real thing; least I might be half way decent.

+1, I suck at that game, I used to be decent until I started playing guitar seriously... go figure.

The drumming on rock band isn't terrible though

I was great at it because that was all i played before i got real guitars. In fact, i'm glad that guitar hero came out because that's the only thing that sparked an interest in music for me and led me to pick up a real guitar. It's good to inspire kids, but at some point they need to just take the next big step instead of wasting their lives playing a plastic guitar.

My senior year' date=' I remember winning the school talent show when my band and I performed Thin Lizzy's "Cowboy Song" and "The Boys Are Back in Town." Fast forward to last year. At my kids high school, the winners of the school talent show were 2 kids who rolled a TV onto the stage and "performed" a song on Guitar Hero.

Some things are just wrong.[-(

[/quote']

#-o:-k[bored][biggrin][blink] Terrible; cant believe that would win in a TALENT show... +1 on Thin Lizzy though [cool]