Gibson Brands Forums

Advice on buying a new guitar

pessoaca

Hello everybody,

I'm just beginning to learn guitar this year, since january, and I'm really happy, I think it is the most rewarding thing I've ever done. I have a dreadnought but it is a bit big for me, so I've decided to buy a new good acoustic guitar.

I love the shape of jumbos, but they are really big, so I'd like a mini or small jumbo. I'm very enthusiast with the Gibson J-165 EC reosewood, but that model is hard to find where I live (Spain). I think It would be better to try a guitar before purchasing it.

By like strumming and flatpicking, but I also want to play fingerpicking and country blues. Could you recommend me a good and versatile guitar under 2.600 USD?

Any comment will be very useful for me, so thanks in advance.

As a beginner, start off small.

Don't be jumping torwards a Gibson Les Paul.

I'd get a squier or epiphone guitar, not only are they small (depending on what guitar you get) but its cheap and easy to learn with.

Like, start off with a Squier Strat and then after a year or two, go for a Gibson

If you want an acoustic, Go for the Concert style body. It has a smaller waist and still sounds great. I think the Epiphone starting acoustics are a good choice, and I have a Yamaha FG335. Its a great guitar, (it's a dreadnought design, but not too large, a great beginning guitar). I paid about $125.00 USD for it. For an electric, You can't go wrong with a Epiphone Les Paul Studio. Great Guitar, and affordable.

or you can get yourself a classical guitar' date=' it wont tear up your hands, plus they're cheap[biggrin'] but find a good one.

Classical guitars are only cheap if you buy a cheap one. Steel-string and electric guitars can also be cheap. A quality classical guitar will cost just as much, if not more, as a quality electric guitar.