Gibson Brands Forums

Best place to order Tubes & OT for VJ_h_v2

eadgber

I'm a big time newbie getting ready to order for 1st upgrades on a version2 VJ head.

I need to get the Output Transformer ( Hammond 125ESE?) & Better Tubes (?).

I would like to go ahead and get some of the other things I'm bound to end up needing like resistors,caps & anything else you can advice to put on my order.

It will probably be awhile before I need anything but the OT & tubes. I just want have some of the basic stuff onhand ,make it easier & maybe save a buck on shipping.

After I read up alot more I'm sure I'll be wanting to try some modding.

I'm just looking for recommendations on where's the best place & good deals all on the same site.

THANKS

Shipping charges really add up, so anything you can walk/bus/drive to is the best.

if you want the mojo type caps/resistors then places like http://www.turretboards.com would have stuff, not many buy Ken's OT's though.

Other parts places are the amp builders and kits suppliers like: http://www.allenamps.com/parts.php

Edcor is an alternate for the OT http://www.edcorusa.com/home.html but with edcor you have to state p/n 15XSE-MS-5K , Phyllis is easy to work with and they take paypal.

Many here use http://www.mouser.com/home.aspx, I don't to; they dont' have pictures and the parts description is fair at best and you could order the wrong parts (re: extra shipping costs)

http://thetubestore.com (they are in Canada, watch for Duty charges), http://www.eurotubes.com/index.htm

Other parts places are the amp builders and kits suppliers like: http://www.allenamps.com/parts.php

A couple of the guys on Sewatt swear by the Allen Amps Heyboer upgrade OTs. They are abou the same cost as the Hammond. I've never tried one' date=' so I can't vouch for them.

Edcor is an alternate for the OT http://www.edcorusa.com/home.html but with edcor you have to state p/n 15XSE-MS-5K , Phyllis is easy to work with and they take paypal.