Gibson Brands Forums

Help with LP purchase

axplayer

Hello everyone. I just started to get back into guitar playing after a 10 year layoff and my mid 80’s Strat-copy just isn’t doing it for me anymore. Friday night I got to played my friend’s Epi Black Beauty and that got me hooked on the Les Paul sound. So now I’m thinking about purchasing a new guitar. Since I’m new to the LP world, I need some information and opinions.

I’ve done lots of reading in the past few day, but I haven’t had the opportunity (or the guts) to go to the music store yet. Since buying a Gibson LP is totally out of my financial range, I’ve narrowed my decision on either buying Epi Les Paul or an ESP/LTD 400VF. Both are pretty close in the price range that I want to spend. Other than control layout and pickups, I don’t see much difference between both guitars. I have read somewhere that the ESP/LTD body is thinner than the Epi, so the ESP/LTD could be lighter (?).

Questions about the body materials:

On the Epi Standard LP (not the plain top or plus top), is it a maple cap or an alder cap on a mahogany body? I’m getting conflicting information.

On the Plus tops is it a mahogany body with a maple cap then a flame maple veneer on the cap or is it a mahogany body with a flame maple veneer on top of the mahogany?

Questions about the electronics:

What is the general opinion on the stock pickups on the Epi? I’m hearing some forum members that they’re not bad, but are most people are replacing them?

The ESP/LTD comes with Seymour Duncan JB/59’s. What is the general opinion on SD pickups?

Accessory question:

Hardcase or gig bag? My Strat copy was always in a gig bag, but I never was worried about a headstock snapping off. Plus Strat replacement necks are plentiful and are easily replaced too. Should I budget the extra cash for a hardcase? I personally don’t think I’m hard on guitars when transporting them, but accidents do happen.

Thanks for everyone’s opinions and ideas