Gibson Brands Forums

Grounding issue or normal?

Super_Coo

Hi guys I installed an RS Kit quite a while back and still had a lot of noise when using my Boss Metalzone. The noise MOSTLY stops when I touch a metal part of the guitar. It's fine when on clean. Is this normal for a pedal with such high gain?... or do I blame the pickups??? It was like this before the RS Kit but I thought the kit would help. It definitely made it sound better.

I checked and re-checked all my wiring and even had someone else look it over. The wiring diagram from RS was great and I solder and repair electronics for a living so it was easy for me to do.

I'd say that is it pretty much normal. Any time you kick on distortion or overdrive pedals they will add some noise. Is it pretty quiet without the pedal(s) on? Try it without any pedals on and see how quiet it is.

I use a compressor, 2 overdrives and a GE-7, to name a few. Each unit that I kick on adds noise. If I kick all of them off my guitar sounds pretty quiet.